Soft-boiled metaphors

I really like eggs. I recently discovered the correct timing for making soft boiled eggs. 5-6 minutes in boiling water if you want the yolk gooey (5 minutes exactly if you want it running down your fingers when you take a bite). I eat these eggs with seasoned salt or salt mixed with curry powder. I like eggs in my ramen. It’s the first thing I eat because the yolk will turn solid if you leave it too long. Placing a fried egg on a sandwich is like eating the sunrise.

I like the egg as a metaphor for potentiality, insulation, or protection. For those born in the 80’s, we watched eggs frying in a pan as we waited for the cartoons to come back on. In the right setting and position, eggs can be strong and stable. We teach kids about gravity with eggs. Lost opportunities, death, failed relationships, and the rigid hands of our primary caretakers easily crack our shells. Do we need to be destroyed in order to find our purpose? If so, then your omelette is a revolution.

I like eggs as projectiles. I remember one Halloween, my brother and I hid up in the tree in the front yard and threw eggs at passing cars. We only aimed for the tires so that they wouldn’t notice the impact. I laughed so hard. Eggs rotating on all three axes as they are hurled through the air is a beautiful sight – it’s the reason why the iPhone’s slow-mo video capturing exists. Eggs as a replacement for baseballs make picnics fun and family reunions bearable.

Have you had an egg today?

Leave a Reply

